Curried Quinoa Salad with Black Beans and Mango

This is sooooo cool! I got interviewed today for my blog! Karen from thingamajig came over today to interview me while I made a recipe. She is creating a online blog-azine that features interesting local people and showcases their talents. First off, COOL idea Karen. Also, thank you for asking to feature me! I feel pretty honored :).

Since I let Karen do all the picture taking today, I thought I would just post a simple one-picture entry, which includes the recipe I made for Karen.

Here it is! The curried quinoa salad from none other than the mother of whole grains and beans herself: Julie Van Rosendaal. I’ve raved about this genius before, when she taught me the beauty of adding squash to chili. Here is another featured recipe of hers, straight from her fabulous cookbook: Spilling the Beans. If you have not yet had the opportunity to pick up with book, I highly recommend you do so (Although I hear that it’s very hard to get a hold of, considering it’s popularity – My mother in law had to hunt one down for me. I love her so much!). I have acquired a new-found appreciation for beans and whole grains, and all of the fantastic health benefits their combination brings. Also. this salad is just plain delicious.

Jacquie’s Tasty Curried Quinoa Salad with Black Beans and Mangoes (Courtesy of Julie Van Rosendaal and Sue Duncan’s cookbook, Spilling the Beans)

You will need:

1 cup Quinoa

2 ripe mangoes

1-2 mini sweet peppers

1/2 Long English cucumber

1 small sweet onion

a few fresh basil leaves

1 can of black beans

For the dressing:

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

3 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 tsp brown sugar

2 tsp curry powder

1/2 tsp ground cumin

Cook quinoa according to package’s instructions. Fluff with fork and place in fridge to cool while you prepare other ingredients. Chop up mangoes, peppers, cucumber, and onions into small cubes and place them in a large bowl. Shred basil leaves and add. Open can of black beans and rinse in a strainer until clean. Add to bowl as well. Prepare dressing by combining all ingredients and mixing rigorously with a fork. When quinoa is cooled, add to veggie bowl. Next add dressing and toss until well coated. Serve garnished with a fresh basil leaf and enjoy, a lot!

2 Comments on “Curried Quinoa Salad with Black Beans and Mango”

  1. supersu says:

    awesome!
    love love the sounds of this salad….will have to flip thru my copy of the cookbook and make it sometime soon.
    i too love karen’s idea of the blog-a-zine!
    cant wait to read all about YOU and other interesting edmontonians

    cheers
    su :)

  2. [...] Link: Curried Quinoa Salad with Black Beans and Mango « Garneau … [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,055 other followers