White Chocolate Raspberry Ice Cream

Summer, when the livings easy! I am LOVING the weather we have been blessed with over the past few days. Cloudless, warm and sunny days. We couldn’t ask for a better spring. To celebrate, I decided to bust out the old ice cream maker!

My Ice Cream Maker is one of my favorite kitchen tools. I love experimenting with different recipes with different ingredients. Since I am constantly craving Ice Cream in warm weather, I thought it would be a fantastic investment. I’ve never regretted picking one up!

My Ice Cream Maker came with 100s of different recipes to try out, but I’ve been branching out, trying even more complicated recipes.

This one was a custard based recipe. It was FANTASTIC! The first step was to melt the white chocolate into the warm milk and cream.

Next, you beat the eggs and sugar until they have the thickness of mayonnaise.

See the thickness? It took about 10 minutes on high to get to this consistency.

Next, I beat in the warm milk mixture.

Then, I transferred it back to the stove to cook until it was thick enough to coat the back of a spoon.

Into the fridge it went! I let it cool for about 5 hours.

When I was ready to make the ice cream, I pulled out this beautifully thick custard from the fridge. Amazing!

Here’s a shot of the custard-ice cream when it first went into the mixer.

The recipe I found suggested I make a raspberry syrup. Given that there was so much sugar in the recipe already, I decided to opt out of making a syrup, and just used straight up frozen raspberries instead.

I microwaved them for a few seconds, then mashed them up. Delicious!

Here’s the soft serve, ready for the final ingredients.

I plopped the raspberries in and watched them swirl. I added a few white chocolate chips for texture as well. I then transferred it all to a Tupperware and froze it overnight to let it firm up a bit.

Here’s the finished result. Beautiful, isn’t it? It was soso delicious too!

Jacquie’s Awesome White Chocolate Raspberry Ice Cream (Courtesy of One Perfect Bite)

You will need:
1-1/2 cups whole milk
1-1/2 cups heavy cream
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 large egg yolk
1-1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
8 ounces white chocolate morsels/chips plus extra for mixing into ice cream
1-1/2 cups (6-oz.) frozen raspberries

Directions:
To prepare ice cream: Combine whole milk and heavy cream in a medium pan set over moderate heat. Bring to a boil and pour into bowl containing white chocolate, stirring until smooth. Combine sugar, whole eggs, and egg yolk in a medium bowl; beat with a hand mixer until thickened like mayonnaise. Stir in vanilla extract. Beat 1 cup of the hot cream into the egg mixture. Mix in remainder of chocolate cream mixture. Transfer to a medium saucepan and cook mixture over low heat, stirring constantly, until mixture begins to thicken and coats back of a spoon.

Transfer mixture to a bowl. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate until completely cooled.

While custard is cooling, transfer raspberries to a microwave safe bowl and heat for 15-20 seconds. Once thawed, mash with a fork.

To make ice cream: Pour chilled ice cream mixture into freezer bowl and mix until thickened, about 25 to 30 minutes. In the last 2 minutes of mixing, add raspberries and a hand full of white chocolate chips. Transfer to a freezer safe tupperware and freeze until firm. Enjoy!

2 Comments on “White Chocolate Raspberry Ice Cream”

  1. […] ready to hold a scoop of your favourite homemade ice cream – what’ll it be? Pistachio? White Chocolate Raspberry? Or Mint Chocolate Chip? I guess you’ll have to decide!I opted for a scoop of classic […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,055 other followers