Turkey and Black Bean Chili with Butternut Squash and Apples

I am so excited to share this recipe post with you all! My wonderful soon to be mother in law hunted down a wonderful cookbook for me. Julie Van Rosendall and Sue Duncan’s new cookbook Spilling the Beans is absolutely FABULOUS! I’ve been a huge fan of Julie’s blog for some time now, and was thrilled to hear that she wrote a cookbook with her foodie friend. It is a bean and foodie adventure of sizable proportions. I’ve had the book for only 2 weeks and I’ve already made three recipes from it! The book explores the health benefits of beans and whole grains, incorporating them in very easy to make recognizable recipes. I HIGHLY recommend you pick up this book. Now. You will love it just as much as I do, I promise! :)

This recipe was the best chili I have ever had. I am not even over-exaggerating. It was sensational, and had so many complex falvours in it. I became a HUGE fan, and seriously considered making it again right away. It was that good.

The base had thai curry paste, coconut milk and chicken broth. Hmm!

I added chili powder and cumin too. It was SO good! Very very spicy, but so good!

It was also super easy to make a day or two ahead of time, and leave in the fridge, ready to pop into the crockpot in the morning. I left myself a note not to forget to cut up an apple the day of though, so it wouldn’t brown.

Here are all of the ingredients, all loaded into the crockpot!

It is all ready to go.

Here is the fabulous chili after cooking for 6 hrs.

Beautiful Chili, from a beautiful book!

You’re going to want to make extras. Trust me!

Super Awesome Turkey and Black Bean Chili (Courtesy of Julie Van Rosendaal and Sue Ducan’s Spilling the Beans)

You will need:

1 onion

1 celery stalk

4 garlic gloves, crushed

1 pound ground turkey

1 small butternut squash

1 large tart apple

2 tbsp chili powder

1 tbsp ground cumin

1 tsp red curry paste

1 can chicken broth

1 can coconut milk

1 can black beans

1 can of sweet corn

1/2 cup salsa

To make ahead: Brown ground turkey until fully cooked. Dice up all vegetables. Store in a tupperware container until ready to place in crockpot. When ready to cook, combine liquids and spices in crockpot. Add veggies, turkey and add diced apple. Cook on low for MAX 6.5 hrs. Enjoy. A lot!

3 Comments on “Turkey and Black Bean Chili with Butternut Squash and Apples”

  1. supersu says:

    looks good!

    i’ve got the book too, but love to see the ‘real live’ version of book recipies.

    sometimes they dont look like the pic’s in the book do they!

    thanks for the share

    cheers
    su :)

  2. [...] winter squash, and one summer squash. Ever since we’ve discovered the amazingness of putting squash in the crockpot, we just cant get enough! Here is a shot of the butternut [...]

  3. [...] Van Rosendaal. I’ve raved about this genius before, when she taught me the beauty of adding squash to chili. Here is another featured recipe of hers, straight from her fabulous cookbook: Spilling the Beans. [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,055 other followers