Shrimp and Chorizo Paella

This week, I decided it was time to make something very different, and something new that I’ve never tried before. So I went ahead and made authentic Chorizo and Shrimp Paella. It was incredible!

For the Chorizo, I used Organic chicken chorizo sausage from Sunworks organics from the Old Strathcona Farmer’s Market. I love their products. They have so many flavours of sausages, and they are all organic and delicious! Very go0d bang for your buck too!

I also used frozen shrimp (not organic), from superstore.

I always like to cook shrimps straight from frozen, so not to worry about there being any iffyness with raw fish thawing in the fridge. I run hot water from the tap over them until thawed. Takes no time at all, and it works every time!

I began by frying up the sausages in my non skit electric skillet.

When they are almost done, I added the shrimpies to cook up. Watch them carefully, they cook very very fast! I removed the meat from the skillet afterwards, so not to overcook.

Next, I sliced and diced all these tasty veggies.

I added them to the skillet with some paprika and garlic. hmm!

I have never purchased saffron before making this dish. I had to go to planet organic to find some, because they did not carry any at save on foods. When I got there, they had regular Spanish Saffron, and this ground American Saffron. Seeing as the American Saffron was 1/4 of the price, I picked it up, not caring what part of the world the saffron came from – They both were not local, after all! Interestingly enough, American Saffron is a cheap rip-off version of Spanish Saffron! It has a different taste, and consistency. You need to use 8x as much for the taste to come through (which I did not know while preparing this dish…) I think next time I make paella, I’ll just go with the regular Spanish Saffron!

The next step was to add the chicken broth and saffron to the veggies and bring to a boil.

I sprinkled in the rice and let it bubble and boil for a while.

Then I chopped up the chorizo that was waiting for me on the counter.

See the saffron colour? It’s beautiful eh? The taste didn’t come through though. I will add more next time.

I re-added the shrimp and the chorizo. Beautiful and tasty meal!


I would definitely make this again. Beautiful, tasty and very interesting. I would just add more saffron next time!

Jacquie’s Tasty Shrimp and Chorizo Paella (Courtesy of Gastronomy Blog)

You will need:

  • 25 threads saffron, crushed (a heaping 1⁄4 tsp.) – *I used ground. If using American, add 8x this!
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 1⁄2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 lbs. extra-large shrimp in the shell
  • 4 small Chorizo sausages
  • 1 tbsp. smoked paprika
  • 4 medium tomatoes, minced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 red bell pepper, cored and chopped
  • 1 small onion, minced
  • 5 cups chicken broth
  • 2 1⁄2 cups short-grain rice, preferably Valencia or bomba (I used Jasmine)

Heat oil in a 16″–18″ paella pan (or curved non-stick skillet) over medium-high heat. Add Chorizo and cook through. Add shrimp, lightly salt, and cook, turning occasionally, until pink, about 5 minutes; transfer to a plate and set aside. When cooled, dice up chorizo.

Add paprika, tomatoes, garlic, peppers, and onions to pan and cook, stirring often, until onions are soft, about 6 minutes. Add saffron and broth, season with salt, and bring to a boil over high heat.

Sprinkle in rice, distribute evenly with a spoon, and cook, without stirring, until rice has absorbed most of the liquid, 10–12 minutes. (If your pan is larger than the burner, rotate it every two minutes so different parts are over the heat and the rice cooks evenly.)

Reduce heat to low, add reserved shrimp and chorizo. Cook, without stirring, until rice has absorbed the liquid and is al dente, 5–10 minutes. Remove pan from heat, cover with aluminum foil, and let sit for 5 minutes before serving.

3 Comments on “Shrimp and Chorizo Paella”

  1. Tammy says:

    This sounds like a terrific paella recipe. My friend’s mother tosses everything in her paella, including octopus – not my favorite recipe. I think I’ll try this one and serve it the next time they come over. It looks so good!

  2. Sea Cuisine says:

    This Paella dish makes a beautiful meal in itself, and can also work as a easy side dish recipe to bring along for a potluck!

  3. I think the coolest thing about this recipe is that everything is done in one pan! Kudos on achieving that – no kitchen mess! I so enjoy your recipes and many-a-times they’re from other blogs but it’s great that you find them and end up making them!

    Thanks for using the powdered American saffron. I know that I’m not going to buy it now :P (I always have spanish saffron in my freezer if you ever need. I’ll be glad to share!)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,055 other followers