What to do with Turkey leftovers – Whole Wheat Thin Crust BBQ Turkey Pizza

Ah, Turkey leftovers: The right of passage for all Canadians who celebrate thanksgiving. My mom hosted 40 people on the Sunday of the Thanksgiving long weekend, and there were still leftovers after the fact! It made for a delicious adventure making homemade pizza, dough included, for the first time!

My best friend Alexandra made a wonderful gift for me last Christmas. She knew that I had a pretty severe disdain for making bread, as it was honestly just a pain in the but that I really couldn’t see myself enjoying. In order to convince me otherwise, she made me “Jacquie’s guide to Quick and Painless Bread Recipes” (Patent Pending). It’s a heartfelt compilations of tasty tasty bread recipes to suit any need!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I figured it was time to get over my fear of baking and make some home made pizza dough. It was DELICIOUS!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I used local whole wheat flour, from Gold Forest Grains. I am thrilled that they now have a permanent booth at the old Strathcona farmer’s market. Now I can get all of my local whole wheatey needs super close to home!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No bread is complete without quick rise yeast!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is my ball of dough, all elastic from the kneading.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I put the dough into a greased bowl and let it rise for about an hour.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And it doubled in size! :)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then I rolled it out thin on a pizza plate.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And covered it with the most amazing ingredients ever.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I popped it in the oven and let it bake at 350 for about 15-20 mins.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Out it came all beautiful and crispy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Slice it up.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And devour!

Jacquie’s awesome home made whole wheat thin crust BBQ Turkey Pizza

You will need:

2 cups of whole wheat flour

1 & 1/2 packages of dry yeast

1 teaspoon of salt

2 teaspoons of sugar

1 tablespoon of olive oil (optional)

2/3 cups of very warm water (120 to 130 degrees)

2 tablespoons of BBQ sause

1 red onion, diced.

1 orange pepper, diced.

a handful of leftover turkey

2 cups of grated mozzarella cheese

Grease Pizza pan or cookie sheet.

Mix 1 cup flour with yeast, salt and sugar. Add water and oil, blend well. Gradually add second cup of flour until dough pulls away from sides of the bowl and forms a ball. Turn dough on a slightly floured surface and knead until it is very stretchy. Let rest for 10-15 mins in a warm place. (If you have time, place in a greased bowl and cover tightly with plastic wrap, and set aside in a warm place until doubled, about 40 mins.) Spread dough onto pans with a rolling pin. Preheat oven to 350 while you are putting on your toppings.

Spread BBQ sauce over dough. Sprinkle onion, pepper, turkey and cheese on top. Bake for 15-20 mins. Slice up and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,055 other followers