Eat Alberta: A Day of Local Foodie Awesomeness!

Yesterday was the much anticipated Eat Alberta Local Food conference. It was wonderful! A full Day of local foodie awesomeness, where I got to nerd out over how much I love food, and local food at that, with other local food lovers! Before I begin to tell you the tales of the day, I wanted to send out a HUGE Thank you to Valerie and to Slow Food Edmonton for organizing such a wonderful day! I had so much fun!!

My mom and my sister Michelle took time out of their super busy lives (My sister is getting married next weekend!) to partake in the fun.

The morning Keynote was wonderful! Jennifer BerkenBosch and James Vriend recounted their tales of falling in love with food, and endeavoring to sustainably feed their family with the food that they’re grown with their own two hands. I loved the uniqueness of their story; how they gave up with urban lives to buy a farm and live sustainably on it. It was a great kick off to the day!

Our first hands on session of the day was Apple Pie Making with Christian Miller, who so kindly shared her expertise with us, as well as her family’s secret tricks to baking the best pie every time.

She also let us play with the apple peeler/core-er. It was so cool!! All you do is stick the apple onto the spikes in the machine.

Then you turn the handle

And watch the entire apple get peeled on its own!!

This machine even took out the core. Lucky us, we barely had any work to do to get the perfectly peeled apple!

Also made for a pretty interestingly cut apple!
After we played with the apple peeler for a while, Christian explained the fine art making fresh pie filling. Always use a tart apple, she says, and then add brown sugar. You know that you’ve added enough brown sugar when the apple tastes at a perfect balance between sweet and tart. Next, don’t be afraid of cinnamon. Add a lot, because it tastes good!

The dough was a lot easier than I thought it would be! Apparently, Christian uses the recipe on the side of the Tenderflake box!

We each got to take home a mini pie. It was quite the fun experience to learn how to cook altogether!

Here’s my overstuffed pie! I was told to bake it with a cookie sheet underneath, as it is sure to explode in my oven!

My mom, so proud of her little pie!

Here’s me trimming the edge of my super huge pie.

Beautiful! I got tips on how to add finishing touches, like curling up the edges for that classic apple pie look, and adding different types of ventilation holes!

The next session of the day was fresh, homemade pasta making with Kathryn Joel of Get Cooking (she hosts local Edmonton food classes. Check her out!) I was so blown away to be learning how to cook fresh pasta from a Corbon Blue trained Chef. This was such an interesting session! It make me seriously consider investing in a pasta maker…

The recipe for making homemade pasta is actually way easier than I thought. All you need is 1 egg per 100 grams of flour. No seriously, that’s it. I’m not lying!!

Kathryn showed us a technique that you create a little well, and crack your egg in it.

Mine didn’t work out as nicely as Kathryn’s did.  (My well exploded and the egg fell all over the table… quite messy but really fun!!)

Next, you beat the eggs until they are incorporated into the flour, and you are able to kneed it.

This is me, kneeding my dough with my full force, because the dough was so thick.

Next, you have to let the dough rest for 30 minutes, because we were kneeding the heck out of them…

While we were waiting, Kathryn gave us a demonstration on how the Pasta press works. Very cool machine!

Hmm… I could see this contraption being rather effective in this home kitchen…

Also while we were waiting, Kathryn gave us a demonstration on how to make our own pesto. Its really simple. Use fresh basil, olive oil, garlic, pine nuts and Parmesan cheese. That’s it! Stick it in a blender, and blend it up fine. Toss with freshly made pasta! Delish!

Chunky, delicious, fresh homemade pesto!

We stayed a bit longer into lunch to cut our pasta. It was actually really fun!

We had the most amazing lunch! This was the sample platter, telling you what cheesy ordevres there were to choose from. Wow. Do I ever love goat cheese. This was an awesome foodie lunch!

After lunch, it was time to make some sausage. Allan Suddaby from Button Soup passed along his knowledge on how to make the perfect Spicy Italian and Kubasa sausages.

Being on the Italian Sausage side of the room, I hand-mixed in all the spicy goodness into the pork meat, before we added it into the grinder.

Can you see the marbling of the ground meat as it comes out of the machine? That’s because sausage is half half meat and fat. That I did not  know before taking this workshop. It was very interesting, but also kinda gross!

Once all the meat was ground, it was time to ferment it, using a little vinegar and salt. I didn’t know sausage was fermented!!

Allan then told us the next most important step was to taste it, to see if your spices were right. He fried some of each sausage up, so that we could have a taste. These were really really good!!

The next step in sausage making was probably the most gory (I’m warning the squeamish, you may want to skip ahead a few pictures if you don’t have a strong stomach. It was almost too much for me…) This is the sausage stuffer. Pretty innocent looking machine eh?

This however, is not to innocent. It’s a nicely washed and preserved small pig intestine. Yummy.

The pig intestine got wrapped onto the sausage squeezer machine kind of like a condom. (Really, I can’t think of a better analogy for that one…)

Then the meat was literally pressure pressed into the intestine tube. We didn’t section it off as we went, rather we kept one long tube until the end.

To section it off, Allan showed us that we needed to twist every second sausage in the opposite direction, so keep it from falling apart while drying.

Be proud of me! I got over my meat touching aversion to learn how to section off sausages!

So did bride to be Michou!

The end result of our sausage making extravaganza!

Kevin Kossowan delivered the afternoon keynote. It was so interesting and rounded off the full way so nicely!! He talked about the challenges to the growth of the local food system in Alberta (such as long waiting lists at farmer’s markets, and silly provincial laws preventing farmer’s from selling ducks as agricultural products), and the plethora of options that you have to chose from when it comes to local food! I found Kevin’s talk to be quite inspiring. He really solidified for me all the reasons why I decided to go down the local path in the first place.

Eat Alberta was a wonderful day filled with local foodie awesomeness. I really appreciated the huge amount of work slow food edmonton put into the day to make it a huge success! I’m already looking forward to next year’s conference!

15 Comments on “Eat Alberta: A Day of Local Foodie Awesomeness!”

  1. Michelle says:

    Hey Jacqui, was lovely to meet you, Michelle and your mum yesterday. Very nice write up… will link your to mine when I get a chance to get to it.

    PS – I went and got myself a pasta machine today… very reasonably priced in the Italian Center :-)

  2. Addie says:

    Whoa! It surely sounds like a great way to spend a Saturday :-). Given their popularity, they should have it once in two months or so!

    By the way, I only now realized that the Eat Alberta sign has a map of Alberta with the left bottom edge bitten off .. LOL (thanks to your pictures, that is)

    Truly lovely read and it sure looked like a fun event! I hate to correct you:
    Cordon Blue (u wrote “Corbon”)
    orderves (not ordevres)

  3. Michelle says:

    PS – Addie – I think actually Le Cordon Bleu, London, I think that’s where Kathryn did her cooking courses.

  4. Andrea says:

    Great to read your post our days were quite similar you ended up being my “hand model” in some of my shots for pie and sausage making. It was a great time it was good to meet you hope to see you there again next year :)

  5. Wonderful, thorough, lovely compilation of your day accompanied by lovely photos. Can’t wait to hear how it all tastes and if you use what you learn again, at home in your lovely kitchen! Have fun at the wedding. This was a wonderful mom and daughter day. Thank you so much for supporting our event! You might want to consider joining Slow Food. We need young energetic members just like you! :)
    Valerie

  6. Christan says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed the pie class! Your pie looks great.

  7. Hi Jacquie, great recap.

    I’m glad you built up the nerve to try stuffing and linking the sausages (which were only 25% fat, not 50!)

    Only tangy, dried sausages like salami are fermented, not the fresh Italian and kielbasa we made. Let me know how you cooked up your take-home sausages.

    Glad you enjoyed the conference, and hope to see you next year!

  8. [...] Garneau Home Kitchen writes: [...]

  9. Kelley says:

    Drat! I think I should have taken the pasta making class. I have always wanted to make my own stuffed ravioli!

    The photos are great. I think we were in the same session at the end of the day – Getting in Touch with your Local Food Community.

  10. CourtJ says:

    Great summary, I have been looking for a recap of the day on a number of the blogs I follow and never saw one. Sharron from Only Here for the Food recommended I check yours out. I am so sad to have missed it :-(

  11. [...] boards we used in her post! Another of last year’s participant post including the past class from the Garneau Kitchen! Sadly, for me, no one has posted a gnocchi making follow up, yet! I am eager to [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,055 other followers