Cold weather food: Chicken Fajitas and Guacamole

Hello dear Edmonton readers! I know. You’re sick of winter already. I am too. And so, I am keeping upbeat and optimistic with some recipes that will make you feel like its tropical and warm all around you, even when its not.  Today’s selection: Home-made Chicken Fajitas and Guacamole. It will warm your soul and your toes until the earth finally decides to rotate enough for us to get a little tiny bit of warm weather up in this frozen tundra.

Unfortunately, this recipe is not very local (I apologize, my localista readers. Wait until May and you can make this recipe using 100% local ingredients! I promise!)

Full disclosure: I like Old El Paso. I know what your thinking: Who features a recipe online when they are not prepared to use their own original spice mix?… Me, unfortunately. I actually don’t have a special blend of spices that I use when I cook Mexican food (which I should, considering how much I cook it and love to eat it.) If anyone has any suggestions for a blend of seasoning that they love to use while cooking Mexican, please share!! So I use Old El Paso seasonings for tacos and fajitas. They are actually really tasty, and go a long way. This one has reduced sodium, SCORE!

I followed the instructions on the package, and sauteed veggies and chicken together in my wok (I know, I’m probably the only one who uses a wok while cooking Mexican, but hey, it worked.)

For the Guacamole, start by slicing the avocados in two, removing the nut by stabbing it, and discarding it, then slice it like this! (It helps with the mashing and smashing part of the recipe.)

Place the delicious avocado bits in a bowl…

Add some finely chopped red onion, dried cilantro, salt and pepper and lime juice, and squash, squish and mash it all together!

Serve the Fajitas in whole wheat flour tortillas, with some shredded cheese and a side of guacamole (and sour cream and salsa if you want to go all out!) It made for the perfect Friday night meal. Delicious!!

 

Jacquie’s Cold Weather Chicken Fajitas and Guacamole

One large red onion

Two bell peppers (whatever colors you want!)

Two chicken breast

One package of Old El Paso Fajita or Taco seasoning

Whole wheat tortillas

2 ripe avocados

A pinch of cilantro

Salt and pepper

A tablespoon of lime juice

 

For the Fajitas, julienne (as in slice into thin strips) the bell peppers, half of the red onion and chicken. Cook chicken with a tablespoon of cooking oil before adding the veggies. Add Old El Paso seasoning mix and follow the instructions (I always use only half a package for a meal, so not to over-power it.) Serve with whole wheat tortillas and shredded cheddar cheese.

For the guacamole, slice the ripe avocados in half, remove the pit and cut the avocado meat in squares (as shown), prior to removing it from the skin. Throw it into a bowl. Slice and dice the rest of the red onion and add it to the avocado. Add cilantro, salt and pepper and lime juice. Mash, mix and squash it all together. Serve as a side to fajitas!

Enjoy! And stay warm!!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,055 other followers