Turning leftovers into awesome meals!

Don’t you just love when you’re able to turn leftovers into new and exciting meals? It’s so simple! Leftovers always give me new ideas on meals I’d like to make. Plus, if you make a new meal out of leftovers, then you’re not eating the same thing over and over!

This is what I did for my Valentine’s day dinner gift for Justin (sorry for the lateness in the post). I had some leftover pesto from my Roasted Vegetable weekend, I had some muffins that had gone stale in the fridge (recipe courtesy of The Girl Who Ate Everything). These two items inspired a tasty meal!

For the muffins, I had decided to turn them into bread pudding. (The inspiration for this was from Edmonton’s amazing High Level Diner. They turn their old cinnamon buns into bread pudding with the most amazing brown sugar bourbon sauce that I have ever tasted!! Unbelievably decadent. So good. You need to try them for yourself. Or you could try and replicate them like I did!)

These muffins were pretty tasty. The recipe that I used made too many though, and they went stale and hard before we were able to eat them all. I started by chopping them up into squares, and placing them into a well greased pan. I then poured the sugary egg mixture over it and baked it until “set”. It turned out like this:

Tasty looking, no? Oh, it so was! I served it with a milky brown sugar sauce for desert. hmm was it every good!

For the main dinner, I made baked pesto chicken with a side of creamy pesto broccoli pasta. FYI, the pesto was from Pasta Delight at the Old Strathcona Farmer’s Market. Truly, it is quite amazing stuff. They also make and sell fresh pasta! I recently bought some for our trip to Canmore. Look forward to a post about that coming up!

Now for the recipe for the bread pudding!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Best Bread Pudding (Recipe courtesy of Paula Deen and the Foodnetwork.com)

For the pudding:

2 cups granulated sugar

5 large beaten eggs

2 cups milk

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

3 cups cubed Italian Bread, allow to stale overnight (Or you can use any stale baking that you have around the house!)

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Grease a baking pan.

Mix together granualted sugar, eggs, and milk in a bowl; add vanilla. Pour over cubed bread and let sit for 10 minutes. (I should suggest letting stand even longer. maybe up to 2 hrs, just to make sure the bread soaks up the eggs mixture really well. I only let stand for 10 minutes, and there were alot of muffin chucks that hadn’t absorbed any of the mixture).

Bake for 35 to 45 minutes, or until set. Remove from oven and enjoy!!

 

For the Brown Sugar Bourbon Sauce:

1/4 cup of butter

3 tbsp all purpose flour

2/3 cup of brown sugar packed

1 cup of cold milk

1/4 cup of brandy (We didn’t have any brandy, so we just didn’t put any. It turned out quite nicely without it!)

1/4 tsp vanilla

Over medium heat, melt the butter in a small saucepan. In a medium size bowl, stir flour with sugar.Then whisk into the melted butter mixture until the mixture is moistened. Stir in the milk until smooth. Cook, whisking frequently, until thickened and smooth, about 5 minutes. Stir in brandy and vanilla. Remove from heat and serve immediately on top of tasty bread pudding!


One Comment on “Turning leftovers into awesome meals!”

  1. [...] have to admit, there are some recipes that appear on this blog that I will never try again like my stale muffin bread pudding (hey, I meant well…), and my cilantro lime chili shrimp (another good attempt…), and my [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,055 other followers